Theresa May will be Tory leader and PM by Wednesday



Theresa May will become next Prime Minister of the United Kingdom following the withdrawal from the race of her opponent this morning.

Standing outside St Stephen’s entrance at the Commons, Mrs May said she was honoured and humbled to be chosen as the next leader.

The future Prime Minister promised “to make a success of Brexit” and “negotiate the best deal for Briain in leaving the EU”.

She repeated her previous statement: “Brexit means Brexit” pointing that there will be no attempts to stay in.

Mrs May paid tribute to Andrea Leadson for the dignity that she had shown today.

Andrea Leadsom announced shortly after midday today her decision to step down, saying she did not have “sufficient support” from other member in the Conservative party.

David Cameron has already confirmed that Mrs May will get the keys to NO 10 by Wednesday evening.

The Prime Minister was delighted that his successor in Downing Street would be the Home Secretary saying she was “strong” and “competent”.

Mr Cameron said:

“We’re not going to have a prolonged Conservative leadership election campaign.

“I think Andrea Leadsom has made absolutely the right decision to stand aside and it’s clear Theresa May has the overwhelming support of the Conservative parliamentary part.

“I’m also delighted that Theresa May will be the next prime minister – she is strong, she is competent, she is more than able to provide the leadership that our country is going to need in the years ahead and she will have my full support.

“Obviously with these changes we now don’t need to have a prolonged period of transition and so tomorrow I will chair my last Cabinet meeting, on Wednesday I will attend the House of Commons for Prime Minister’s Questions, and then after that I expect to go to the Palace and offer my resignation.

“So we will have a new prime minister in that building behind me by Wednesday evening.”


Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.