Nominations for UKIP leader closes

Nigel Farage
Nigel Farage, stepped down as leader following the EU Referendum.

The nominations to succeed Nigel Farage as the leader of the UK Independence Party (UKIP) have closed.

The battle is now underway as nominations closed at noon on Sunday, July 31.

North East MEP Jonathan Arnott is battling alongside the party’s immigration policy chief Steven Woolfe, councillor Lisa Duffy and fellow MEP Bill Etheridge.

The candidate list will be announced on Tuesday, August 2, following a vetting procedure is carried out by UKIP top brass.

Huntingdonshire councillor Ms Duffy is backed by former deputy chairwoman Suzanne Evans, who was suspended from the party earlier this year after repeated clashes with Mr Farage.

Meanwhile, Mr Woolfe is the most high-profile contender after controversial rule changes limited who was eligible to stand.

Mr Farage announced his resignation after the leave victory in the EU referendum saying: “I want my life back, and it begins right now.”

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.